In Florida, you’re required to carry personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage on top of your regular car insurance. Many people just don’t understand what PIP insurance is, though. If you’re injured in an accident, you’ll want to speak with a knowledgeable personal injury protection insurance attorney in Miami to know how to protect your interests.
If you’re going to register a car in Florida, you’re required to show proof of a minimum of $10,000 of PIP coverage. If you’re in an accident, this insurance is used to pay your medical bills and lost wages, regardless of who was at fault for the accident. The Florida legislature’s intent behind requiring this coverage was to reduce the number of personal injury claims and lawsuits filed when the injuries suffered were not serious.
If you intend to use your PIP insurance to cover medical bills you receive after an accident, you’re required to obtain medical treatment for your injuries within 14 days. It will cover 80% of your medical and dental bills along with 60% of your lost wages. If you die in a covered accident, it will pay up to $5,000 of your funeral and burial costs on top of your medical bills. Certain limitations have been put on PIP coverage. If the injuries you suffer in an accident aren’t determined to be an emergency, medical benefits are capped at $2,500. If that happens, it’s time to speak with an experienced and effective personal injury protection insurance attorney in Miami.
After an accident, PIP coverage can easily be exhausted with paramedic services, diagnostics, and treatment at an emergency room. You’re probably going to need to file a personal injury lawsuit. You’ll need us for both your PIP claim and that lawsuit. Call Shuster & Saben at 877-511-7829, or visit our website, for a personal injury protection insurance attorney in Miami and we can arrange for a free consultation and case evaluation.